Skip Navigation
Get updates:

We respect your privacy

Thanks for signing up!

MINNEAPOLIS -- Riding a wave of unprecedented activism and interest around media issues, the 2008 National Conference for Media Reform -- presented by Free Press -- kicks off this weekend in Minneapolis.

WHAT: 2008 National Conference for Media Reform
WHERE: Minneapolis Convention Center
WHEN: June 6-8, 2008
WHO: Nearly 3,000 activists, media makers, journalists, policymakers, scholars and concerned citizens from across the country

Full coverage of the 2008 National Conference for Media Reform -- including streaming video, audio of all sessions, and regular blog updates -- will be available during and after the conference at

The three-day weekend is packed with nearly 75 hands-on workshops, film screenings and interactive panels. The event also features an impressive daily lineup of keynote speakers, including:

10 a.m. - 12 p.m. CT -- Opening Plenary

Speakers address "Media at a Critical Juncture," exploring the long-term impact of shifts in technology, policy and culture.
Rep. Keith Ellison (D-Minn.)
R.T. Rybak, mayor of Minneapolis
Lawrence Lessig, Stanford University law professor
Adrienne Maree Brown, The Ruckus Society
Janis Lane-Ewart, KFAI-FM
Josh Silver, co-founder and executive director of Free Press

8 a.m. - 9 a.m. CT -- Morning Plenary

Legendary journalist Bill Moyers speaks at the National Conference for Media Reform for the fourth consecutive time.
Bill Moyers, PBS
Robert W. McChesney, co-founder of Free Press

8 p.m. - 10 p.m. CT -- Evening Plenary
Lizz Winstead, co-creator of The Daily Show, and Baratunde Thurston of Laughing Liberally emcee. Plus Free Press unveils the 2008 inductees into the "Big Media Hall of Shame."
Dan Rather, former anchor, CBS News
Arianna Huffington, of
Sen. Byron Dorgan(D-N.D.)
Michael Copps, FCC commissioner
Naomi Klein, author of The Shock Doctrine
Tim Wu, Columbia University law professor
Rev. Romal Tune, Clergy Strategic Alliances
Silvia Rivera, Radio Arte
Shá Cage, MN Spoken Word Association
Maria Isa, emcee/songwriter

11:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. CT -- Closing Plenary

Closing speakers describe how to build a broad movement for better media.
Jonathan Adelstein, FCC commissioner
Amy Goodman, host of Democracy Now!
Van Jones, Ella Baker Center for Human Rights

Online registration for conference participants is now closed. However, those wishing to attend the conference can still register and pay at the conference site.

Press credentials for the National Conference for Media Reform are available to members of the media who will be covering the event. Request press credentials by filling out the online application:

Many conference speakers, media policy experts and the event planners are also available for guest appearances in advance of the conference. To schedule an interview, contact Jen Howard at

Program updates, registration information and highlights from previous conferences can be found at


Free Press is a national, nonpartisan organization working to reform the media. Through education, organizing and advocacy, we promote diverse and independent media ownership, strong public media, and universal access to communications. Learn more at

More Press Releases