Skip Navigation
Get updates:

We respect your privacy

Thanks for signing up!

  • Craig Aaron

    President, Free Press and Free Press Action Fund

    Craig has led Free Press and Free Press Action Fund since 2011. For more than a decade, he has been a leader in major campaigns to safeguard Net Neutrality, stop media mergers and consolidation, oppose unchecked surveillance, defend public media and sustain quality journalism.

  • Ben Scott

    Board Chair

    Ben is the director of policy and advocacy at Luminate. He previously was a senior adviser to New America's Open Technology Institute in Washington and the director of the European Digital Agenda program at the Stiftung Neue Verantwortung in Berlin. He also led the technology-policy advisory group for the 2016 Clinton presidential campaign. Prior to that he served as the policy adviser for innovation at the State Department and as the policy director at Free Press.

  • Alvaro Bedoya

    Alvaro is a visiting professor at Georgetown University Law Center, where he directs the Federal Legislation Clinic and is the founding executive director of the Center on Privacy & Technology. He is a former chief counsel to Sen. Al Franken and the Senate Judiciary Subcommittee on Privacy, Technology and the Law. He is a co-founder of the Esperanza Education Fund, a status-blind college scholarship for immigrant students.

  • Michael Copps

    Michael is a former commissioner and acting chairman of the Federal Communications Commission, where he served from 2001–2011. Michael continues to be active in the fight for media democracy, ubiquitous broadband and an open internet as a special adviser to Common Cause’s Media and Democracy Reform Initiative.

  • Olga M. Davidson

    Holly earned her Ph.D. from Princeton University in Near Eastern Studies. She is on the faculty of the Institute for the Study of Muslim Societies and Civilizations at Boston University, where she has served as a research fellow since 2009. She is a trustee of the Woodcock Foundation and has chaired the board of the Ilex Foundation since 1999.

  • Victor Pickard

    Victor is an associate professor at the University of Pennsylvania’s Annenberg School for Communication. He is the co-director of Media, Inequality & Change, a research and activism center in Philadelphia, and also co-directs the Consortium on Media Policy Studies program in Washington. He is the author of America's Battle for Media Democracy.

  • Liza Pike

    Liza is the founder and director of New Media Mentors, a hands-on learning program that trains nonprofits to design and run winnable campaigns, expand their reach and influence and transform their leaders so they can have maximum impact and achieve lasting social change.

  • Robert W. McChesney

    Director Emeritus

    A co-founder of Free Press, Robert is the Gutgsell Endowed Professor in the Department of Communication at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He has written or edited 27 books.

  • John Nichols

    Director Emeritus

    A co-founder of Free Press, John is the Nation's Washington correspondent and editorial-page editor of the Capital Times in Madison, Wisconsin. He is the author of 11 books.

  • Josh Silver

    Director Emeritus

    Josh is the co-founder and former president and CEO of Free Press. He is the founder and director of Represent.Us, a national campaign to end the undue influence of money in U.S. politics through passage of comprehensive anti-corruption laws.