## October 21, 2009

The Honorable Julius Genachowski Chairman Federal Communications Commission 445 12<sup>th</sup> Street, SW Washington, DC 20554

Dear Chairman Genachowski:

The undersigned public interest groups write to express our strong support for your recent announcement that the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) will begin a public proceeding that will ensure an open and nondiscriminatory Internet.

Since its creation, the Internet was intended to be a medium controlled by users, not by network access providers. As a result, it has become the most democratic medium this country, and the world, has ever known. The power that an open Internet vests in individuals has resulted in an unprecedented surge in creativity, innovation, and civic discourse. The open Internet has generated billions of dollars in investment, by network operators and Web-based companies, opening up new opportunities for consumers while creating thousands of jobs.

Since 2005, the future of an open Internet has been unclear. We wholeheartedly support your effort to bring certainty to network providers, applications and service providers and the public through rules that will ensure that the FCC can preserve an open and nondiscriminatory Internet.

Over the past two weeks, the largest telephone and cable companies have launched an intense lobbying campaign to oppose meaningful rules using dire yet vague predictions of doom if the FCC acts to preserve the Internet's traditional openness. This outcry over a proposal the public has yet to see is clearly intended to halt the dialogue over the proper rules of the road for an open Internet before it even starts.

We urge you to continue with the process you have set out. We are also encouraged by the Administration's statement this weekend about the importance of an open Internet. We believe this will best serve the public. So far, 1.6 million Americans have spoken – they do not want the Internet to become just another closed network where large media entities pick winners and losers, like broadcasting and cable. We are confident that even more Americans will rally to the cause in the months ahead.

You have dedicated your Chairmanship to guaranteeing that the public's needs are served first. As representatives of the public in the nation's capital and throughout the United States, we applaud the FCC for beginning a process that seeks to ensure that users will continue to reap the benefits of an open Internet.

Helen Soule Executive Director Alliance for Community Media

Charles Benton Chairman Benton Foundation Michael McLeod-Bell Acting Director, Washington Office American Civil Liberties Union Lynne E. Bradley, Director Office of Government Relations *American Library* 

Respectfully submitted,

Lawrence Lessig Co-Founder *Change Congress* 

Association

Prudence Adler Associate Executive Director Federal Relations and Information Policy Association of Research Libraries

Bob Edgar President & CEO *Common Cause* 

Mark Cooper Research Director Consumer Federation of America

Michael Bracy Policy Director *Future of Music Coalition* 

Andrew Jay Schwartzman President and CEO *Media Access Project* 

Michael Calabrese

Vice President and

**Future** Program

**Director of Wireless** 

Tribal Digital Village

Beth McConnell Executive Director Media and Democracy Coalition

Sascha Meinrath

Marc Rotenberg Executive Director Electronic Privacy Information Center

Brewster Kahle Director and Co-Founder Internet Archive

Helen DeMichiel Co-Founder National Alliance for Media, Arts and Culture

Gigi B. Sohn President & Co-Founder *Public Knowledge* 

Edmund Mierzwinski Consumer Program Director and Senior Fellow USPIRG Ben Scott Policy Director Free Press

James Love Director Knowledge Ecology International

Carol Pierson President and CEO National Federation of Community Broadcasters

Douglas Newcomb Chief Policy Officer Special Libraries Association

John Kosinski Political Director Writers Guild of America, West

New America Foundation New America Foundation New Matthew R. Rantanen Ch Director of Technology Po

Director Open Technology Initiative *New America Foundation* 

Cheryl Leanza Policy Director United Church of Christ, Office of Communication, Inc.

Ellen Bloom or Director, Washington ation of Office Consumers Union

> Lisa Fager-Bediako President and Founder *Industry Ears*

Leslie Harris President & CEO *Center for Democracy and Technology*